Petit Planet will launch worldwide in winter 2026 on Windows PC, iOS and Android. HoYoverse’s current announcement says the PC and mobile versions will support shared progress across those three platform families. Pre-registration is open through the official website and store routes.

The exact release day is still unannounced. Apple’s U.S. App Store currently displays Expected Dec 31, 2026, but that is a store expectation field, not a separate HoYoverse announcement that overrides the official “winter 2026” window.

The Final Beta Test begins September 20, 2026, and applications close September 14 at 00:00 (UTC+8). It is a limited-access, data-wipe test for Windows PC, iOS and Android with no in-game purchases; emulators are not supported. Those dates and rules belong to the test, not the finished game’s launch. The ESRB also lists Windows PC and Nintendo Switch 2, but the current Gamescom launch announcement names PC, iOS and Android. A rating record is meaningful evidence that a Switch 2 version has entered a formal process; it is not yet evidence that Switch 2 launches on the same day as PC and mobile.

To apply before the deadline, open the official site and choose Beta Sign-Up rather than the separate Pre-Register route. Follow the HoYoverse account flow and submit the information requested there. A completed sign-up is an application, not proof of selection or a public game download.

Petit Planet status at a glance

Question Verified answer on August 31, 2026
Official release window Winter 2026, worldwide
Exact release day Not announced by HoYoverse
Windows PC Confirmed through official client and Epic Games Store references
iOS Confirmed; U.S. App Store pre-registration page is live
Android Confirmed; Google Play pre-registration is named in the official announcement
Cross-save PC, iOS and Android data sharing is officially announced
Final Beta Test Sign-ups close September 14 at 00:00 (UTC+8); test begins September 20, 2026
Nintendo Switch 2 Listed in the ESRB rating record, but not in the current synchronized launch announcement
PlayStation / Xbox No current launch edition identified in the official announcement reviewed here
Price App Store lists the app as free; complete launch monetization is not yet published

The most common errors come from collapsing four different records into one answer: official release window, beta start, store expectation and platform rating. They should stay separate until HoYoverse connects them.

What is the Petit Planet release date?

HoYoverse announced winter 2026 during Gamescom Opening Night Live on August 25. Its official publisher release says the game will launch worldwide in that window. The accompanying English connection trailer uses the same wording.

No official source reviewed here gives a month-and-day launch date. Winter is also a regional term: a global product can use a marketing season while stores operate by local timestamps. Readers should wait for a dated HoYoverse release notice before planning around a specific U.S. day or midnight unlock.

Apple’s U.S. listing complicates the answer by showing December 31. App stores often require an expected date while a product remains in pre-order or pre-registration. The listing itself labels the date Expected. It is therefore useful as a boundary—the app is configured for a 2026 expectation—but it should not be rewritten as “Petit Planet confirmed for December 31.”

The official hierarchy is straightforward:

  1. Winter 2026 is the confirmed publisher window.
  2. September 20 is the final beta start.
  3. December 31 is the current App Store expected field.
  4. The exact worldwide launch day remains pending.

If HoYoverse later publishes December 31 or another date in a release notice, this page should update. Until then, precision would be manufactured.

Which platforms are confirmed for launch?

The current publisher announcement names three platform families and one PC storefront route:

  • Windows PC through an official client;
  • Windows PC through Epic Games Store;
  • iOS through Apple’s App Store;
  • Android through Google Play.

HoYoverse also says progress can be shared across PC, iOS and Android. That is stronger than assuming cross-save from a common account login. It still does not answer every edge case: regional servers, account-linking steps, simultaneous logins, purchase-currency transfer and platform-exclusive items can have separate rules.

Platform Current evidence Boundary
PC client Named in the current publisher release Final system requirements and download size can change
Epic Games Store Named as an active pre-registration route Not evidence of Steam availability
iPhone / iPad Official App Store record is live Device compatibility can change before launch
Android Official announcement names Google Play Final regional listing and requirements remain live-store questions
Nintendo Switch 2 ESRB lists the platform No official synchronized release date has been announced
PlayStation 5 No current product page identified in this launch set Unannounced is not cancelled
Xbox Series X|S No current product page identified in this launch set Unannounced is not cancelled
Steam No official Steam launch route identified PC confirmation does not automatically mean Steam

The U.S. App Store currently lists a 3.5 GB app, iOS 14 or later, English plus 14 other languages, and a 9+ age rating. Those are current store fields, not universal final requirements for every device. Download size can expand after installation, and a minimum operating system does not guarantee acceptable performance on every compatible phone.

What does the Switch 2 ESRB listing mean?

The ESRB page is real and important. It identifies Windows PC and Nintendo Switch 2, rates Petit Planet E for Everyone, and discloses Users Interact and In-Game Purchases (Includes Random Items). The rating summary describes fishing, bug catching, planting crops and landscape customization.

It does not provide a Switch 2 release date. More importantly, HoYoverse’s August 25 global launch announcement lists PC, iOS and Android without naming Nintendo. Those records are not necessarily contradictory: a product can be rated before its platform announcement, or one edition can follow another.

The accurate current wording is therefore:

  • A Switch 2 version appears in the official U.S. ratings database.
  • HoYoverse has not yet added Switch 2 to the announced winter 2026 launch set reviewed here.
  • Simultaneous release, cross-save, physical edition and Nintendo account details remain unannounced.

Calling the version imaginary would ignore the ratings record. Calling it a confirmed same-day launch would claim more than the publisher has said.

How the Final Beta Test works

The official Final Beta FAQ says the test begins September 20 and applications close September 14 at 00:00 (UTC+8). It is a limited-access, data-wipe test with no in-game purchases on Windows PC, iOS and Android; emulators are not supported. A sign-up is an application, not a guaranteed invitation.

Readers should keep the beta and retail states separate:

State What it means
Pre-registration Records interest in the finished product and can deliver launch notices
Final beta sign-up Applies for limited test participation
Selected access Requires an invitation or access confirmation from the official route
Winter release The public finished-game window announced by HoYoverse

Earlier Petit Planet tests used limited access, data wipes and platform-specific device binding. Those older rules show why a player should read the current Final Beta FAQ rather than assume access transfers from a previous test. They do not automatically define the final beta’s complete terms.

Use the official website to sign up. Do not buy an invitation, shared account or installation package. HoYoverse’s earlier test guidance explicitly warned against account trading and unofficial packages; the same caution remains sensible for a newly announced test.

How to sign up for the Petit Planet Final Beta

  1. Go to the official Petit Planet website.
  2. Select Beta Sign-Up. The nearby Pre-Register action is for launch notices and rewards; it is not the test application.
  3. Sign in through the official HoYoverse account flow and complete the fields the live application requests.
  4. Submit the application before September 14 at 00:00 (UTC+8) and keep any confirmation sent through the official account or contact route.
  5. Wait for an official access notice before downloading a client. A submitted form does not turn an unofficial APK, installer or resale offer into a valid test build.

The current official campaign confirms that sign-ups are open until September 14 at 00:00 (UTC+8) and the test begins September 20. It does not state that every applicant is admitted. Do not substitute the old April 21 Stardrift Test date found in earlier guides: that was a previous test, not the current Final Beta.

Pre-registration and beta registration solve different tasks:

Action What it does What it does not prove
Pre-Register Records launch interest through the website or supported store Final Beta selection
Beta Sign-Up Submits an application for the September 20 test Guaranteed access
Official access notice Tells a selected account how to proceed Finished-game ownership or permanent progress
Winter 2026 launch Opens the public release window An exact day until HoYoverse publishes one

Is Petit Planet free, and does it have gacha?

The U.S. App Store currently lists Petit Planet as Free, while the ESRB discloses In-Game Purchases (Includes Random Items). Those two facts establish a free-download model with at least some purchase system containing randomized items in the rated build.

They do not identify what is randomized. The ESRB disclosure does not say that Neighbors, furniture, clothing, resources or another category is obtained through a character gacha. Search suggestions and community speculation are not enough to fill that gap.

The current answer should be divided into three layers:

  • Confirmed: free App Store listing; in-game purchases including random items; social interaction.
  • Not specified: the exact item category, rates, pity system, currencies and spending limits.
  • Not safe to infer: that the business model matches Genshin Impact simply because the publisher is HoYoverse.

Parents and players who care about randomized purchases should revisit the final store disclosures before launch. A beta build can also use different purchase rules from the retail service.

What kind of game is Petit Planet?

Petit Planet is HoYoverse’s first cozy galactic life simulation game. Players become Planet Tenders, shape an initially empty planet, gather resources, make furniture and gradually build a home. The core activities include farming, fishing, bug catching, cooking, landscaping and spending time with fuzzy Neighbors.

The game expands beyond a private decorating loop. Players can sail across the Starsea to Islets with different landscapes and resources, and they can meet other players in a shared Galactic Bazaar. The publisher frames that space around trading, activities and social connection rather than combat.

The familiar comparison is Animal Crossing. It helps readers understand the pace and verbs, but it is not a product identity. Petit Planet adds a movable planetary home, space travel, cross-platform mobile/PC operation and a live-service publisher context. Whether those pieces produce a satisfying long-term routine cannot be judged from announcement copy alone.

The bright art direction also matters to a contemporary China-facing site. This is not a mythology export or historical-costume project. It is a HoYoverse product built around customizable space, multilingual distribution and cross-device play. Modern Chinese creative output is not one aesthetic; Nodusfall’s realistic dark fantasy reveal and Petit Planet appearing at the same event make that range visible.

What you can do now

  1. Start at the official Petit Planet website and follow its current store or beta routes.
  2. Pre-register on the platform you actually plan to use; do not assume one store’s expected date applies everywhere.
  3. Apply separately for the Final Beta Test if you want a chance at test access.
  4. Treat Nintendo Switch 2 as a rated platform awaiting a publisher release announcement.
  5. Recheck system requirements, server regions, account linking, cross-save details and purchase disclosures before the winter launch.

The finished game is not available for normal public play yet. Store pre-registration and beta recruitment should not be described as a released download.

Readers comparing global Chinese live-service launches can also check Roco Kingdom’s separate China and international release states and Ananta’s current PS5, PC and mobile platform record. Each has a different beta, store and account boundary; sharing a broad origin does not make their rollout rules interchangeable.

Questions readers ask next

When is Petit Planet coming out?

Winter 2026 worldwide. HoYoverse has not announced the exact day.

Is Petit Planet releasing on December 31, 2026?

Apple currently displays December 31 as an Expected date. HoYoverse’s official announcement says winter 2026 and does not confirm that exact day.

When does the Petit Planet Final Beta start?

September 20, 2026. Sign-ups close September 14 at 00:00 (UTC+8), and applying does not guarantee access.

How do I sign up for the Petit Planet beta?

Use Beta Sign-Up on the official Petit Planet site, sign in through the HoYoverse account flow and submit the live application. Pre-registering for launch notices is a separate action and does not by itself apply for the Final Beta.

Is Petit Planet on PC?

Yes. HoYoverse names an official PC client and Epic Games Store. No Steam version was identified in the current launch announcement.

Is Petit Planet on iPhone and Android?

Yes. iOS and Android are in the official winter 2026 launch set, and pre-registration is open.

Is Petit Planet coming to Switch 2?

The ESRB lists Nintendo Switch 2, which is meaningful official ratings evidence. HoYoverse has not yet announced that it launches alongside PC, iOS and Android in winter 2026.

Does Petit Planet have cross-save?

HoYoverse says data sharing is supported across PC, iOS and Android. Detailed account, regional-server and purchase-transfer rules should be checked closer to launch.

Is Petit Planet free to play?

The U.S. App Store lists it as free. The ESRB discloses in-game purchases including random items, so free does not mean purchase-free.

Is Petit Planet a gacha game?

The ESRB confirms random-item purchases but does not identify the item category or complete economy. It is too early to label the whole system as a specific character-gacha model.

Sources and scope

Checked August 31, 2026. This is a source-checked release guide, not a beta review. Dates, platform coverage, device requirements, selection rules, cross-save terms and monetization can change; the official site and the final store used to download the game remain the authoritative routes.